The Mind of Jake Paul

YOUTUBE

Time to talk about YouTube! So I’ve never spoken about this medium on my blog before, but I watch YouTube A LOT. My tastes range greatly from comedy to nail art to podcasts. The thing I really want to talk about is Shane Dawson’s new series “The Mind of Jake Paul” that just premiered on September 25th.

giphy

Shane Dawson

So my memories of Shane consist of his Shanaynay videos from the 2000’s. This character and others were played by Shane in wigs and terrible makeup. (He said sorry for the racism in old videos!!!) Shane has been on YouTube for 10 years which is a really, really long time. His content has gone through several transformations since he started.

giphy-1

He has created everything from sketches to reaction videos to food videos to conspiracy videos. That was 100% grammatically incorrect. His most recent content has been documentary style looking at very real subjects like TanaCon and his relationship with his estranged father. Shane also has a fascination with the psychology behind YouTube. (Which is a cool subject, if you think about it. No one’s is talking about it yet!!)

The Mind of Jake Paul

This series focuses on Jake Paul, a creator on Youtube. Personally, I don’t like him. He comes off obnoxious and very annoying. Anytime he has been in the news, I am instantly offended. BUT every new episode I feel like I am finding out something that makes me sympathize with Jake. (????) I’m so confused and ready to watch the whole series.

giphy-2

There is only 4 episodes of this series out so far. And Shane is doing something really smart. He is creating tension and anticipation on a streaming platform. I feel like the only people who were impatient for his regularly scheduled videos were his stans. (Stan- noun – an obsessive fan.)  But I predict that this series will create a following by many people who don’t normally watch Shane.

Leave a comment