This is Old News, but “Younger” is Amazing!

So I’ve given in and applied to a job at the mall. Yes, I’m throwing it back to high school and I may be working a minimum wage job. The scary thing is I don’t mind because I’m that desperate for a job. The couple of jobs where I got interviews didn’t work out and I think it’s mostly because I don’t have “experience.” I honestly think that employers want 40 year old women to apply to these jobs. Even entry level jobs require some experience. And for the record, I have had jobs before. My job (and internships!!!!!!!!!!) at school should count.

I just started watching the show Younger. I’m aware that I’m very late to this party. This show actually premiered in 2015 and is currently on it’s 4th season. Younger is about Liza, a 40 year old woman who is trying to make in the publishing business. Like many older women, she stopped her career to have children. When she realizes that being 40 isn’t helping her at all, Liza disguises herself as a 26 year old. The show sounds crazy, but thanks to Hilary Duff (YEAH THAT’S RIGHT) and Sutton Foster, who plays Liza, the storyline totally works.

551ab43f0acde13473db4bb5_sutton-foster-younger-hillary-duff

Hilary Duff and Sutton Foster

The great thing about this show is that it not only depicts an older woman’s struggle, but the post grad struggles too.

Hilary+Duff+Films+Younger+NYC+9sJWpDtIuAFl

Look at this QUEEN

Liza and Kelsey (Hilary Duff’s character) experience terrible bosses, making extra cash, dating, and even student loan debt. Hilary Duff plays an editor at the publishing company and Liza’s bff. I’m happy to say the Hilary is just as amazing now as in her Disney Channel days. She is gorgeous, smart, and fabulous. I think that her youthful perspective (and the fact that it’s Hilary FUCKING Duff) really draws in the post grad crowd.

I really enjoy this show because Liza and Kelsey are struggling, but they’re making it and that gives me hope. I will be as fabulous as Lizzie McGuire all grown up!

The first 3 seasons of Younger are available on Hulu.

 

Leave a Reply

